New Board inaugurated for 2018-2022 term

Limestone Learning Foundation
New Board inaugurated for 2018-2022 term
Posted on 12/13/2018
The Limestone District School Board of Trustees 2018-2022 (back row, left to right) Joy Morning, Robert Godkin. Judith Brown, Garrett Elliott, Robin Hutcheon, Tom Gingrich, (front, left to right) Laurie French, Suzanne Ruttan and Karen McGregor.Trustees of the Limestone District School Board took their oaths of office on December 12, 2018 during the Inaugural Board Meeting of the 2018-2022 term.

The new Board includes three incumbents and six new members elected or acclaimed during the October municipal election.

Trustee Suzanne Ruttan and Trustee Laurie French will serve as Chair and Vice-Chair respectively for the first year of the new four-year term. Trustees elect a Chair and Vice-Chair each year of their four-year mandate.

Ruttan, who represents the Township of South Frontenac, expressed her appreciation upon being acclaimed to the role of Chair after previously serving as Vice Chair. “I accept this position with my total commitment,” said Ruttan. “I will uphold my duties with dignity and mutual respect for each other, staff, students, and the broader communities we serve.”

In her initial address, Chair Ruttan thanked staff and community partners for their dedication in building an environment that provides the best learning opportunities for children. “I am extremely proud of staff, parents and families, and our partners in education for their attention and alignment to our strategic priorities, and the pillars of innovation, collaboration and wellness.”

Ruttan said she looks forward to leading the Board for the next year, guided by its strategic plan. “By putting wellness first; by turning innovation into action; and by being committed to collaboration, we will support, nurture and enhance student achievement, and student and staff well-being.”

Ruttan was first elected in October 2010 and this is her third term representing the Township of South Frontenac. She served as Vice Chair of the Board for the 2017-2018 school year.

Vice Chair Laurie French, who represents the Town of Greater Napanee, has served on the Board since 2000. French is President of the Canadian School Boards’ Association and is past president of the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association.

Learn more about the role of trustees.

For more information, please contact:
Karen Smith, Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 314 | 613-328-0947 mobile
Jane Douglas, Communications officer
Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 311 | 613-328-0916 mobile

The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.