School Year Calendar

Limestone Learning Foundation
The School Year Calendar for the following school year is decided in the spring of the previous school year. Provincial regulations require that the school year shall start on or after September 1 and end on or before June 30. Every school year shall include a minimum of 194 school days.

Every year, Limestone parents and community partners (daycares, municipalities, public health, business associations, etc.) are invited to provide survey input on the School Year Calendar before it is submitted to the Board of Trustees and the Ministry of Education for approval.

2023-2024 School Year Calendar

The Ministry of Education has approved the Limestone District School Board’s 2023-2024 School Year Calendar. 

Image of updated 2023-2024 School Year Calendar

Printable 2023-2024 Updated School Year Calendar


The following key dates for the 2023-2024 school year:
- First Day of School: Tuesday, September 5, 2023
- Winter Break: December 25, 2023, to January 5, 2024
- March Break: March 11, to March 15, 2024
- Last Day of School: Thursday, June 27, 2024

The 2023-2024 school year consists of 194 days;
- Secondary - 177 instructional days, 7 PA Days and 10 exam days. 
- Elementary - 187 instructional days and 7 PA Days.

Secondary Semester 1: September 5, 2023 to February 2, 2024
Examination Days: January 25, 26, 29, 30, 31,2024

Secondary Semester 2: February 5, 2024 to June 27, 2024
Examination Days: June 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 2024

Professional Activity Days - no classes for students. View descriptions of professional activity day learning here.


Monday, Sept. 25, 2023
Friday, Oct. 27, 2023
Friday, Nov. 10, 2023
Friday, Feb. 2, 2024
Monday, April 08, 2024
Friday, May 31, 2024
Friday, June 28, 2024

2023-2024 Five-Day School Calendar

View and/or print the 2023-2024 Five-Day School Calendar.

Image of 5-day calendar


Board and Statutory Holidays:
Labour Day - Monday, September 4, 2023
Thanksgiving Day - Monday, October 9, 2023
December Break (inclusive) Monday, December 25, 2023 to Friday, January 5, 2024
Family Day - Monday, February 19, 2024
March Break (inclusive) - Monday, March 11, 2024 to Friday, March, 15, 2024
Good Friday - Friday, March 29, 2024
Easter Monday - Monday, April 1, 2024
Victoria Day - Monday, May 20, 2024

2024-2025 School Year Calendar

Printable 2024-2025 School Year Calendar. 

First Day of School:
Wednesday, September 4, 2024
Last Day of School: Thursday, June 26, 2025

Board and Statutory Holidays
Labour Day:
Monday, September 2, 2024
Thanksgiving Day:
Monday, October 14, 2024
Winter Break: Monday, December 23, 2024 - Friday, January 3, 2025
Family Day:
Monday, February 17, 2025
Spring Break: Monday, March 10, 2025 - Friday, March 14, 2025
Good Friday:
Friday, April 18, 2025
Easter Monday:
Monday, April 21, 2025
Victoria Day:
Monday, May 19, 2025

PA Days:
Tuesday, September 3, 2024
Friday, October 11, 2024
Friday, November 22, 2024
Friday, January 31, 2025
Monday, March 31, 2025
Friday, May 30, 2025
Friday, June 27, 2025

Exam Days:
Thursday, January 23, 2025 - Wednesday, January 29, 2025
Thursday, June 19, 2025 – Wednesday, June 25, 2025

The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.